The Pittsburgh Foundation

< Return to Search

Shirley Lewis McCune Memorial Scholarship The Shirley Lewis McCune Memorial Scholarship was established at The Community Foundation of Westmoreland County in memory/honor of Shirley Lewis McCune. Her family chose to honor Shirley, who worked for Columbia Gas for many years and was the first female District Manager for the company here in Southwestern Pennsylvania.

Average Award: Varies
Award Type: Single-Year award. Previous recipients are encouraged to re-apply in consecutive years provided they maintain full-time enrollment.
Application Period Opens: 1/17/2024
Application Period Closes: 3/15/2024


  • Attend high school as a graduating senior in Westmoreland County, with preference given to seniors graduating from Norwin High School and Jeannette Junior/Senior High School.
  • Pursue a degree or studies in business and/or accounting.
  • Demonstrate financial need.
  • Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0.
  • Plan to attend a 2-or 4-year college or university.
  • Be a student who exhibits academic achievement.

How to Apply

  • Complete the essay section of the application.
  • Submit your FAFSA Submission Summary (FSS). If you have not already received your FSS, you can do so by applying for the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
  • Submit your unofficial transcripts.